Published On: November 25th, 2023Categories: News

Capping off a dominate AUSX series from the Honda Racing Australia team, Dean Wilson (SX1), Max Anstie (SX2) and Parker Ross (SX3) were crowned Australian Supercross Champions of their respective classes. 

A vibrant Melbourne witnessed the culmination of an incredible season as Marvel Stadium was transformed into a dirt bike mecca. The full-size SX track set the stage for the crowning of three Australian Champions and an intense battle for minor placings across SX1, SX2, and SX3 classes. Adding to the excitement, the 85cc riders attacked the track in a high-stakes competition for the inaugural CR22 cup title.

Boost Mobile Honda’s Wilson, entered the SX1 final in Melbourne needing only two points to claim the championship, and knowing nothing was guaranteed, the pressure was palpable as gates dropped for the SX1 Main Event. Boost Mobile Honda’s Kyle Webster briefly took the lead, but it was CDR’s Luke Clout who asserted dominance. Despite Wilson’s impressive charge to second place, Clout held firm, securing victory followed by Wilson and the seasoned Justin Brayton. Clout’s triumph marks a remarkable comeback after injuries, with emotions spilling on the finish line. 

A solid second position capped off Wilson’s exceptional year and earnt him the 2023 Australian Supercross Championship title on 122 points. Clout’s breakthrough secured him second place in the championship (95), just one point ahead of Monster Energy CDR Yamaha teammate Josh Hill in third (94).

Boost Mobile Honda’s Max Anstie came into the night with one hand already on the Australian Supercross SX2 trophy, after strong performances in the first two championship rounds. As the 250’s roared to life, the fiery number-one Honda swiftly surged into the lead, seamlessly continuing his dominance from the previous race in Newcastle. Trailing closely behind were teammate Wilson Todd and heat one race victor, Cole Thompson, marking the final race meeting for the Serco Yamaha Racing team after 22 years of triumphant racing in Australia. 

At the forefront of the pack, the Brit showcased unwavering control, and relentlessly hammered out laps on his Honda CRF250R, hitting his marks and building a gap on Todd. As the candles lit on the finish-line jump, Anstie whipped his Honda in celebration of his second Australian Supercross Championship title. Todd secured a commendable second position, while Canadian Cole Thompson crossed the finish line in third place.

In SX3, Yamaha rider Seth Burchell secured the holeshot to kick off the action and take an early lead. However, after a mistake, Championship leader Polyflor Honda’s Parker Ross made his move and never looked back. As the laps unfolded, Burchell shadowed the Californian, but was unable to get close enough to make it stick. Behind Burchell was Husqvarna’s Travis Olander, who broke through for his first podium.

Ross’ impressive moves through the whoops and consistent riding earned him the SX3 title, rewarding a consistent AUSX season. Drew took out second place in the championship, while Kayd Kingsford was third.  

CR22 Cup

The 85cc CR22 Cup, delivered thrilling action in what will be a night to remember for the 12–14-year-olds racing at Marvel Stadium. The KTM-supported Cooper Ford was on another level, ripping his way to a 6-second lead and crossing the line ahead of Lachlan Allen and Jack Nunn. His commanding win secured the first ever CR22 Cup title, ahead of Nunn and Lachlan Allen.