American Jason Anderson crowned 2017 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney Champion

Published On: November 12th, 2017Categories: Announcements, Race Reports

American Jason Anderson crowned 2017 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney Champion

Dean Wilson won Saturday’s feature race at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney at Qudos Bank Arena, part of the Australian Supercross Championship.

Wilson became the first European to win the prestigious event after battling it out early with local Aussie hero Dan Reardon and fellow AMA Supercross teammate Jason Anderson.

Reardon eventually finished third behind a hard charging Anderson who pushed through the field after an early fall put him way back in the field. It was giant effort to pick his way back through the field and almost catch Wilson by race end.

The international pedigree of the AUS-X Open was bolstered with the announcement of renowned businessman and expert in event promotion and sports administration Tony Cochrane, as Chairman of the company.

Cochrane, who currently sits as Chairman of the Gold Coast Suns, and former co-founder of the V8 Supercars Championship is thrilled to be onboard as the AUS-X Open brand continues to grow into one of the world’s leading action sports products.

In the SX2 Championship the winner’s spoils went to DPH Yamaha rider Wilson Todd with Chris Blose second and Jackson Richardson in third.

Earlier in the night the Morris Finance Superpole winner was fast man Anderson while local favourite Nathan Crawford took out the KNOBBY Holeshot award.

In the FMX Best Trick competition Josh Sheehan stole the show with a jaw dropping Double Backflip, a Monster Energy AUS-X Open first, much to the delight of the sold out Qudos Bank Arena crowd.

The Boost Mobile Best Whip was another huge success with local FMX talent Corey Creed upstaging the world’s best to win the style competition.

The second feature event saw the greatest of all time Ricky Carmichael and the self-proclaimed greatest of all time Ronnie Mac go bar-to-bar in a two stroke showdown of epic proportions.

After plenty of pre-race banter, off track antics and elbow banging racing, the inaugural Carmichael v Mac two stroke showdown went to Carmichael.

Saturday Results

SX1 TOP-10
1 – Dean Wilson
2 – Jason Anderson
3 – Dan Reardon
4 – Kade Mosig
5 – Dean Ferris
6 – Nathan Crawford (Holeshot winner)
7 – Dylan Long
8 – Justin Brayton
9 – Jesse Dobson
10 – Todd Waters
11 – RJ Hampshire
12 – Joel Wightman

Fastest Lap was 31.107 by Nathan Crawford (includes Shannons Shortcut)

SX2 TOP-10
1 – Wilson Todd (Holeshot)
2 – Chris Blose
3 – Jackson Richardson
4 – Jay Wilson
5 – Geran Stapleton
6 – Dylan Wills
7 – Bailey Malkiewicz
8 – Joe Roberts
9 – John Prutti
DNF – Cooper Pozniak
DNF – Taylor Potter
DNF – Nick Sutherland

FMX Best Trick
1 – Josh Sheehan
2 – Harry Bink
3 – Pat Bowden

American superstar Jason Anderson won Sunday’s feature race at the Monster Energy AUS-X Open at Qudos Bank Arena in Sydney.

Anderson rocketed out of the gates and never looked back as he lead the prestigious event from start to finish to be crowned the 2017 Monster Energy AUS-X Open Sydney Champion.

“I’m so stoked to take out the SX1 Final of tonight’s Monster Energy AUS-X Open in Sydney, it was so good to get the win,” Anderson said.

“After just missing out in last night’s SX1 Final to my teammate Wilson, I’m pumped I managed to come back tonight and cement the top step on that podium. This is what I came to Australia to do, and it’s great to do it at such a cool event.”

Anderson was untouched throughout the race with AMA Supercross teammate Dean Wilson coming home in second and Australian Supercross Championship leader Justin Brayton in third.

SX1 KNOBBY Holeshot went to local ace Dean Ferris after a ripper start out of the gates in the final. Meanwhile the Morris Finance Superpole went to Anderson for a second night in a row after another impressive night of pace across the lap.

The FMX Best Trick competition was once again a spectacle for fans inside the arena and watching at home, with Josh Sheehan and his double backflip prevailing once more. Sheehan was challenged to gold by Pat Bowden whose frontflip no-hander rivaled, but fell just short, of the score needed for the gold medal, as he settled with silver.

The Boost Mobile Best Whip contest once again went to Corey Creed who laid down yet another stylish and super inverted whip to take out the crown for the second night in a row.

KTM’s Junior Supercross Challenge (KJSC), which saw twenty lucky aspiring Supercross stars take to the big track in front of thousands of spectators at the biggest Supercross racing event in Australia, was won by Cooper Downing.

In the SX2 Championship it was Chris Blose who went one better from his Saturday effort to win Sunday’s feature race. Close led home Jackson Richardson and Jay Wilson after early leader and KNOBBY Holeshot winner Wilson Todd fell on the opening lap after a clash with the American, Blose.

Ronnie Mac v Ricky Carmichael laid it all on the line and did not disappoint the packed Qudos Bank Arena fans with Carmichael reigning supreme to be crowned the ultimate two-stroke showdown champion, for both Saturday and Sunday nights of the competition.

Sunday Results

SX1 TOP-12
1 – Jason Anderson
2 – Dean Wilson
3 – Justin Brayton
4 – Daniel Reardon
5 – Nathan Crawford
6 – Daniel Herrlein
7 – Dylan Long
8 – Robbie Marshall
9 RJ Hampshire
10 – Kade Mosig
11 – Dean Ferris (Holeshot winner)
12 – Nick Schmidt
Fastest Lap was 31.255 by Jason Anderson (includes Shannons Shortcut)

SX2 TOP-12
1 – Chris Blose (USA)
2 – Jackson Richardson
3 – Jay Wilson
4 – Taylor Potter
5 – Geran Stapleton
6 – Dylan Wills
7 – Cooper Pozniak
8 – Jesse Madden
9 – Bailey Malkiewicz
10 – Nick Sutherland
11 – Wilson Todd
12 – Morgan Fogarty

FMX Best Trick
1 – Josh Sheehan
2 – Pat Bowden
3 – TIED – Harry Bink & Rob Adelberg

Remaining 2017 Australian Supercross Championship calendar:

Round 6         Jimboomba, QLD   18 November

Editorial courtesy of AME

Photos courtesy of AME
Photo One: Jason Anderson
Photo Two: Dean Wilson
Photo Three: Jason Anderson
Photo Four: Field taking off